NANOS Members in the News Archives

Congratulations to Michael L. Slavin, MD: 

Dr. Slavin placed second in the 2016 Van Cliburn Amateur Piano Competition. CLICK HERE to learn more and watch his performance. 

Neuro-Ophthalmology highlighted at ANN Annual Meeting in Vancouver: 

CLICK HERE to watch Marc Dinkin, MD, NANOS member provide an update in neuro-ophthalmology, with a particular focus on neuromyelitis optica and strategies for addressing
optic neuritis.

NANOS/Fight for Sight Joint Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Aubrey L. Gilbert of Boston Children’s Hospital & Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary

Congratulations to Alfredo A. Sadun, MD, PhD: 
Recipient of the the 2016 Purpura Award

Congratulations to Lynn Gordon, MD, PhD:

Recipient of the AAO Women in Ophthalmology Suzanna Veronneau-Troutman Award

Congratulations to Anthony C.  Arnold, MD:
Recipient of the 2015 Hoyt Lecturer Award

Karl Golnik, MD:
Named Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati

Marie Acierno, MD:
NANOS representative for the Academy's Leadership Development Program (LDP)  XVIII, Class of 2016. Congratulations!

Alfredo Sadun, MD:
Recipient of the 2015 Heed Award for Academic Excellence

Heather Moss, MD, PhD:
Recipient of the RPB Sybil B. Harrington Special Scholar Award

Lynn Gordon, MD, PhD:

Selected to become the Vice Chair of the Council of the American Academy of Ophthalmology for a two-year appointment (Official election to take place this fall)

Drs. Laura Balcer and Steven Galetta:
"Simple tests could improve sideline concussion diagnoses, study shows...." Fox News

Ivy J. Driezin, MD:
Recipient of the 2015 Thomas Carlow Distinguished Service Award

Preston C. Calvert, MD:
Recipient of the 2015 Thomas Carlow Distinguished Service Award

Larry Frohman, M.D., Past President of NANOS, recently presented his analysis of the state of neuro-ophthalmology manpower and academic practice economics in the US to the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology.  
[Please review his presentation here]


We are pleased to announce Dr. Linus Da-Shih Sun of Columbia University as this year’s recipient of the Fight for Sight-NANOS Research Award.

Click here to view the full press release!

Steve Galetta, MD, Appointed Chair of the Department at Neurology at NYU Longone Medical Center; Laura Balcer, MD, MSCE, Joins as Vice Chair

NYU Langone Medical Center announced today that Steven L. Galetta, MD, has been appointed Chair of the Department of Neurology, and Laura Balcer, MD, MSCE, has been appointed vice chair of the department. The appointments are effective November 1, more here.

Kathleen Digre, MD and Michael Varner, MD Receive 2012 Rosenblatt Prize

The North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society is pleased to announce that longtime NANOS member, Kathleen B. Digre, MD, professor of neurology and ophthalmology, and her husband, Michael W. Varner, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology were the two people honored at the University of Utah’s May 4, 2012 commencement ceremonies with the Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence, the U’s most prestigious award.
View complete details here.

NANOS EVP, Larry Frohman, MD, to Receive Faculty of the Year Award at the NJMS
Congratulations on this award, Dr. Frohman!

Shirley Wray, MD, FAAN, is 2012 A. B. Baker Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Lori Ann Schuh, MD, FAAN, Chair of the A.B. Baker Section of Neurologic Educators, is pleased to announce that Shirley Wray, MD, PhD, FAAN, from Harvard Medical School, has been selected to receive the 2012 A.B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education.

Dr. Wray received the award at the Education Colloquium on Monday, April 23, 2012, during the Academy's 2012 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA.


Search Link

Attention future neuro-ophthalmologists! Applications for 2024-25 neuro-ophthalmology fellowship positions will be coordinated through the SF-Match Ophthalmology Fellowship match.