Merit Award

The NANOS Merit Award recognizes NANOS members who have made extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources to NANOS for the betterment of the organization.

SUBMIT YOUR 2023 MERIT AWARD NOMINATION: The nomination window for the NANOS 2023 Merit Award is now closed. Merit Award nominations for 2024 will be available shortly. 

2022 MERIT AWARD RECIPIENTS: Congratulations Drs. Patricia Johnston McNussen and Victoria Pelak!

WHY? This award recognizes NANOS members who have made extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources to NANOS. Examples of exemplary service could be streamlining processes within committees, creating/implementing new initiatives/programs, creating/editing educational materials, advocating for NANOS and Neuro-ophthalmology to government and non-governmental organizations such as the AAO and the AAN, etc.

WHO? It is open to all members and is meant to recognize the tireless effort and dedication that many members have shown for the betterment of the organization over this past year. Please note that those who are Past Presidents and those currently serving on the Executive Committee or Board are not eligible for this recognition. The roster of award recipients will be proposed by the Membership Recruitment and Retention Committee with final approval by the Board of Directors.

KNOW SOMEONE? 2024 Merit Award nominations will be available soon.

CLICK HERE to view last year’s recipients.  

NEW! WHEN? Individuals who are selected for the awards will be notified by the Executive Office in January and will be recognized during the Welcome Reception on Saturday, March 11, 2023 at the NANOS Annual Meeting. NANOS values every member who invests in the development of the Society and its growth. Thank you for helping us recognize those who have made outstanding contributions over the last year.

2023 Merit Award Deadline: November 6, 2022.

Thank you for your 2023 nominations and acknowledging NANOS talents!


2022 Recipients

2021 Recipient

2020 Recipients

2019 Recipients

2018 Recipients

2017 Recipient

Search Link

Meeting Updates, Committee Highlights, N-O shortage, Grant Opportunities and other news!

Congratulations Dr. Helen Danesh-Meyer!

Read breaking news about the neuro-ophthalmologist shortage and learn about neuro-ophthalmology fellowships & the NANOS Career Center here!


Travel Awards/Grants Recognition for 2023 Annual Meeting

NANOS members have successfully presented a poster on Neuro-Ophthalmology Fellowships and Careers at the AAN Faculty and Trainee Reception at the AAN 2018 Annual Meeting.

Are you in search of a Neuro-Ophthalmology fellowship? Please visit our Fellowship page for openings.