Ore-Ofe Adesina, MD was recognized at AAO 2022 in Chicago for his selection to the Academy’s 24th Leadership Development Program (LDP) class.  Dr. Adesina, nominated by the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS), joins 19 other ophthalmologists in the LDP XXIV, class of 2023 chosen via a competitive selection process. In addition to US participants nominated by state, subspecialty and specialized interest societies, the LDP XXIV class also includes one international participant from the Ukraine who is jointly representing the Ukranian Ophthalmological Society and the European Society of Ophthalmology.  This LDP class came together for an Orientation Session in Chicago led by Academy LDP Director Chris Albanis, MD.  They were joined by participants in the Pan-American Association’s complementary program – PAAO’s Curso de Liderazgo – which is led by co-directors Zelia Correa, MD, PhD and Peter Quiros, MD. 

In January 2023, Dr. Adesina will take part in a 2 ½ day interactive session in San Francisco where he will hear from AAO physician leadership, including 2023 Academy President Daniel Briceland, MD, on a wide variety of leadership topics. During this session he will also visit the AAO headquarters and participate in skills training exercises. Next Dr. Adesina will attend the Academy’s Mid-Year Forum 2023 in April in Washington D.C. where he will have scheduled meetings on Capitol Hill with Senators, Representatives and healthcare staff to discuss issues important to the medical profession.  During an advocacy session dedicated to LDP XXIV participants, Dr. Adesina will also hear from a member of the US Congress about building effective relationships with legislators and how best to advocate on behalf of patients.  The final LDP session for the class of 2023 will take place in conjunction with AAO 2023 in San Francisco.

Participants in AAO LDP XXIV, Class of 2023:

Nominating Society: Participant

  1. American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Ophthalmology: Sylvia Yoo, MD
  2. American Glaucoma Society: Lucy Q. Shen, MD
  3. American Uveitis Society: Phoebe Lin, MD, PhD
  4. California Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons: Victoria L. Tseng, MD
  5. Colorado Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons: Michael A. Puente Jr., MD
  6. Eye Bank Association of America: Jennifer Y. Li, MD
  7. Georgia Society of Ophthalmology: Vandana C. Reddy, MD
  8. Iowa Academy of Ophthalmology: Timothy J. Daley, MD
  9. Massachusetts Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons: Grayson W. Armstrong, MD, MPH
  10. Nebraska Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons: Patricia Terp, MD
  11. New Mexico Academy of Ophthalmology: Rachel E. Davis, MD
  12. New York State Ophthalmological Society: Michael A. Pisacano, MD
  13. North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society: Ore-Ofeoluwatomi O. Adesina, MD
  14. Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology: Sonia Mehta, MD
  15. Society of Military Ophthalmologists: Barton L. Blackorby, MD
  16. South Carolina Society of Ophthalmology: Wade A. Reardon, MD
  17. Texas Ophthalmological Association: Lindsey D. Harris, MD, FACS
  18. Ukrainian Ophthalmological Society/European Society of Ophthalmology: Olena Hurzhii, MD
  19. Washington DC Metropolitan Ophthalmological Society: Aruoriwo Oboh-Weilke, MD
  20. Women in Ophthalmology: Christina Y. Weng, MD, MBA

Congratulations again to all participants and nominating societies.

Search Link

Attention future neuro-ophthalmologists! Applications for 2024-25 neuro-ophthalmology fellowship positions will be coordinated through the SF-Match Ophthalmology Fellowship match.