2018 Annual Meeting

Mahalo to all who joined us for the 2018 Annual Meeting on the Big Island of Hawaii!


Click here to view the full program!

Thank you to our 2018 Exhibitors and Supporters!

Top Supporters






Nominees for the 2018 Best Abstract Awards. Presentation schedule can be viewed here.

Fellow Nominees 

-Jane A. Bailey, MD Smartphone Tests of Visual Acuity, Hyper-acuity, Contrast Sensitivity and Critical Flicker Fusion
-Ruchika Batra, FRCOphth Kayser-Fleischer Ring Detection and Quantification in Wilson’s disease using Optical Coherence Tomography
-Hamish P. Dunn, Dr eFOCUS Phase 2: Comparative Clinical Performance of Smartphone & Traditional Funduscopy
-Eric D. Gaier, MD, PhD Interocular Phase Delay Shifts Visual Cortical Dominance: a Potential New Therapeutic Approach for Amblyopia
-Ali G. Hamedani, MD, MHS Longitudinal analysis of contrast acuity in Friedreich ataxia
-Jonathan A. Micieli, MD Does optic nerve appearance predict visual outcome in patients with idiopathic intracranial hypertension (IIH)?
-Evan R. Schloss, MD Venous Sinus Stenting Improves Visual Fields and Cerebrospinal Fluid Opening Pressures in Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension
-Meagan Seay, DO Mobile Universal Lexicon Evaluation System in MS: A New Visual Test of Rapid Picture Naming
-Lael J. Stander, MD Assessment of a Fully-Automated RAPD Test as a Routine Screening Tool
-Ugo Dodd, MD Diagnostic Evaluation of Pediatric Horner Syndrome

Resident Nominees 

-Keira A. Markey, Dr Safety and Efficacy of an 11β-Hydroxysteroid Dehydrogenase Type-1 Inhibitor (AZD4017) in Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension
-James L. Mitchell, Dr In Vivo Evaluation of Drugs Used to Treat Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension
-Bliss Elizabeth O'Bryhim, MD, PhD Optical Coherence Tomography Angiography Findings in Pre-Clinical, Biomarker Positive Alzheimer’s Disease
-Rawan Omary, MD Buzzing Sympathetic Nerves: A New Test to Enhance Reflex Pupil Dilation in Suspected Horner Syndrome
-Leanne Stunkel, MD Correlative Image Enhancement: Using Image Processing to Improve Visualization of Optic Neuritis on MRI.
-Marisa G. Tieger, MD Mitochondrial haplogroup V/HV is associated with sequential NAION
-Magdalena A. Wirth, MD Repetitive Ocular Vestibular Evoked Myogenic Potentials (oVEMP) Stimulation For Myasthenia Gravis: Comparison Of Stimulation Paradigms

Student Nominees

-Omar Akhand, BA The New MULES:  A Sideline-Friendly Test of Rapid Picture Naming for Concussion
-Michael E. Ding, BS  Assessment of Neurocognitive Consequences of Call Duty in Residents Using Saccadic Eye Movements
-Soren Jonzzon, Medical Student Clinical Features of Pediatric Monophasic and Recurrent Idiopathic Optic Neuritis
-Mathew S. Margolis, BS Lumbar Puncture For Diagnosis Of Pseudotumor Cerebri Syndrome In Typical Patients
-Rachel Nolan, BA Inter-Eye Difference Thresholds for Predicting an Optic Nerve Lesion in in MS: An International Study
-Angela J. Oh, Medical Student Ocular Motor Abnormalities during Saccadic Reading in Different Neuro-Ophthalmic Diseases
-Andrew D. Yousef, Medical Student Eyetracking in Pediatric Multiple Sclerosis

Final Winners
Walsh Best Abstract by a Fellow
Ali Hamedani, MD, MHS - "A Can of Worms"

James A. Sharpe Award by a Fellow
Eric D. Gaier, MD, PhD -  "Interocular Phase Delay Shifts Visual Cortical Dominance: a Potential New Therapeutic Approach for Amblyopia"

Best Abstract by a Resident

Rowan Omary, MD - "Buzzing Sympathetic Nerves: A New Test to Enhance Reflex Pupil Dilation in Suspected Horner Syndrome"

Best Abstract by a Student

Rachel Nolan, BA - "Inter-Eye Difference Thresholds for Predicting an Optic Nerve Lesion in in MS: An International Study"

2018 Pilot Grant Awards
We are pleased to announce that NANOS will fund two research projects this year. 

Clare Fraser, MD from Save Sight Institute, University of Sydney for her project "Is Visual Snow a Thalamo-Cortical Dysrhythmia of the visual processing system? – a MEG Study"

Kimberly Gokoffski, MD, PhD from University of Southern California  for her project "Electrical Fields Direct Retinal Ganglion Cell Axon Growth by Modulating GTPase Signaling"  

2018 Merit Award (for extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources to NANOS)

Danel Gold, MD
Matthew Kay, MD
Klara Landau, MD
Nancy Lombardo 

2017 NANOS/FFS Award 
Ryan Gise, MD for his research project,  “The Epidemiology of Traumatic Pediatric Visual Pathway Injuries”

2017 Hoyt Lecture Award 
Kathleen B. Digre, MD - "More Than Meets the Eye: What an Ophthalmologist Needs to Know About Migraine and the Eye" (Presented at the 2017 AAO Meeting in New Orleans, LA)

2018 Thomas Carlow Distinguished Service Award
Jonathan Trobe, MD for his lifetime contributions to NANOS and the field of neuro-ophthalmology.




5841 Cedar Lake Road · Suite 204 | Minneapolis, MN 55416
952.646.2037 info@nanosweb.org
© 2018 North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society.
All Rights Reserved. Site by The Lone Designer
Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
As a result of General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service have been updated to better explain our relationship with you.
If you wish to opt in/out of receiving NANOS communication, please update your Member Profile.
Search Link
image widget

NANOS members have successfully presented a poster on Neuro-Ophthalmology Fellowships and Careers at the AAN Faculty and Trainee Reception at the AAN 2018 Annual Meeting.

Are you in search of a Neuro-Ophthalmology fellowship? Please visit our Fellowship page for openings.