2015 NANOS Annual Meeting



2015 Thomas Carlow Distinguished Service Recipients:
Ivy J. Dreizin, MD & Preston C. Calvert, MD

Walsh Best Abstract by a Fellow: 
Lulu L.C.D. Bursztyn, MD, “Joe & Jerry Flew the Coop”

James A. Sharpe Award by a Fellow: 
Enrique J. Rivera, MD, “Chronic Optic Neuropathy Causes Decreases in both Inner Retinal Blood Flow and Prelaminar Optic Nerve Blood Flow”

Best Abstract by a Resident: 
Eric D. Gaier, MD, “Clinical Features of OPA1-Related Optic Neuropathy: A Focus on Genetic Modifiers”

Best Abstract by a Student: 
Sui H. Wong, MD, “Natural History of Ocular Myasthenia Gravis in 101 cases: Towards a Risk of Generalization ('ROG') Score”

2015 Thomas and Susan Carlow Young Investigator Award: 
Heather E. Moss, MD, PhD, “The Photopic Negative Response in Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension”

2015 Pilot Grant Award: 
Hong Jiang, MD, PhD, "Retinal microvascular alteration as a possible biomarker in Alzheimer’s disease"

Hoyt Lecture Award
Mark J. Kupersmith, MD, "Optical Imaging of the Optic Nerve: Beyond Documenting RNFL Loss"



Walsh Session Abstracts

Platform Session I

Platform Session II

Poster Session


  • Journal Club
  • Hot Topics: To Boldly Go Where No Neuro-Ophthalmologist has Gone Before
  • Sizzling Hot Topics: The Results of the IIHTT
  • Mechanical Causes of Diplopia
  • Jacobson Lecture
  • AGS/NANOS Joint Symposium: Glaucoma: The Other Optic Neuropathy


  • Optional Symposium: Hands on Workshop Utilizing the Prism Cover Test and Prism Therapeutics for the Diplopic Patient
  • Optional Symposium: International Neuro-Ophthalmology
  • Optional Symposium: IIHTT-Weight Loss and Management
  • Optional Symposium: Eye Movement and Vestibular Skills Transfer Session
  • Scientific Platform Presentations
  • Members-in-Training Program and Reception
  • Consortium of Pediatric Neuro-Ophthalmologists Meeting (CPNO)
  • Young Neuro-Ophthalmologist Forum
  • Women-in-Neuro-Ophthalmology (WIN) Luncheon
  • Opening Reception
  • Poster Session and Reception
  • Annual Banquet


Thank you to this year's exhibitors and supporters.  Please click on the button to the right to view supporter and exhibitor details! 




Search Link

CMS approves hospital reimbursement for CRAO patients treated with IV tPA!!

Attention future neuro-ophthalmologists! Applications for 2024-25 neuro-ophthalmology fellowship positions will be coordinated through the SF-Match Ophthalmology Fellowship match.

NANOS members have successfully presented a poster on Neuro-Ophthalmology Fellowships and Careers at the AAN Faculty and Trainee Reception at the AAN 2018 Annual Meeting.

Are you in search of a Neuro-Ophthalmology fellowship? Please visit our Fellowship page for openings.